Presented to CYNTHIA FLANNERY the 67th Annual Meeting of the Health Physics Society, National Harbor, MD, July 21-25, 2023
Cynthia Flannery McAdams

On behalf of the ABHP, it is my privilege and pleasure to recognize my colleague, Cindy M. Flannery, for her many years of dedication and service to the health physics profession and the certification process as the 2023 William A. McAdams Service Award Honoree.  This annual award is presented by the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) to honor a certified health physicist who has served the health physics community through outstanding and extended work on the ABHP Examination Panels, ABHP Board, AAHP Executive Committee and other AAHP committees.

Cindy received her Bachelor of Science from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse in 1990, majoring in Nuclear Medicine Technology, her Master of Science in Health Physics from Georgetown University, Washington, D.C. in 2000, and became a Certified Health Physicist and a member of the American Academy of Health Physics in 2001.

She started her health physics career as a Senior Health Physicist (1993 – 1999) for Krueger-Gilbert Health Physics, Inc. in Baltimore, Maryland where she provided comprehensive health physics support to hospitals and facilities with NRC and Agreement State medical use licenses. While finishing her Master’s degree, she served as a Radiation Safety Officer (1999 –2000) for the FDA’s Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition in Washington, DC.  There she maintained a broad scope NRC license and managed the radiation safety program. Next, she accepted a position as the Radiation Safety Officer (2000 – 2004) for the Defense Threat Reduction Agency in Fort Belvoir, Virginia where she managed their NRC license for the military uses of radioactive material.

Cindy is currently a Senior Health Physicist (2004 – present) at the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) in the Medical Safety and Events Assessment Branch in Rockville, Maryland.  She is involved with the development and implementation of NRC policies and programs associated with 10 CFR Part 35, Medical Use of Byproduct Material.

Throughout her career, she continued to provide support and give back to the certification process through: serving on the ABHP Part I Examination as a panel member (2009 – 2016) and as the Part I Examination Chair (2014); serving on the ABHP Board (2017 – 2021) as both Vice-Chair (2018) and Board Chair (2019); and is currently serving on the AAHP Executive Committee as a Director and Parliamentarian (2023 – present). 

Her dedication to furthering the advancement of the Health Physics community is also acknowledged through her memberships on various committees: Accredited Standards Committee (ASC) – N13 (Radiation Protection) member (2017 – present); “Health Physics News” bi-monthly newsletter Associate Editor (2012 – present); “Ask the Experts” feature  of the Health Physics Society website Topic Editor (2012 – 2015); National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements Council Member (2017 – 2023); and Council of Engineering & Scientific Specialty Boards ABHP Liaison (March 2020 – present).  She is also a proud member of the Baltimore-Washington Chapter of the Health Physics Society (2005 – present) where she served as Executive Committee/Secretary (2007 – 2009) and a plenary member of the National Health Physics Society (1999-present).

We are very fortunate to have Cindy, a dedicated Health Physicist who continues to share her knowledge, skills, and time for the betterment of the Health Physics profession and the community. 

Please join with me in congratulating Cindy on receiving the 2023 William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award!

Kathleen Dinnel-Jones, 2023 Vice Chair ABHP