February 21, 2024 CHP Corner Features

By Charles Wilson, CHP, AAHP Nominating Committee Chair

We are excited to announce the call for nominations for three esteemed AAHP awards: the William McAdams Outstanding Service Award, the Joyce P. Davis Memorial Award, and the Nancy K. Johnson National Service Award. Recognizing exceptional contributions to the field of health physics is at the heart of our mission, and your participation is crucial in this process.

Do you know someone who embodies the unwavering dedication to professionalism exemplified by William McAdams? Has their tireless work on ABHP committees, their commitment to educating new health physicists, or their contributions to advancing ethics shaped the field for the better? Nominate them for the McAdams Award and celebrate their lasting impact.

Remember the remarkable legacy of Joyce P. Davis, a champion of both professional excellence and ethical leadership. If you know someone who exemplifies these qualities, someone whose achievements and conduct inspire us all, submit a nomination for the Davis Award. Their dedication deserves recognition at the highest level.

Finally, let’s acknowledge the critical role individuals play in supporting the Academy and its initiatives. If someone went above and beyond during the immediate Past President’s term, providing exceptional service that strengthened the AAHP community, nominate them for the Nancy K. Johnson National Service Award.*

Nominations are open until March 1st. Visit for detailed eligibility criteria and submissions can go directly to the nominating committee at*. Let’s come together to honor those who shape the future of health physics, inspire our colleagues, and uphold the highest standards of our profession.

*Note the Nancy K. Johnson National Service Award nominations should go directly to the AAHP Past President, Carolyn MacKenzie at